Deputized.

Posted: March 28, 2013 by kfusari in Uncategorized

I watched the documentary “Deputized” during my crime and media class the other night. I found it to be very interesting and definitely an eye opener. As much as I don’t want to believe that horrible things like such happen, the reality is that they in fact do; a lot more often than most people think nonetheless. The movie is about the stabbing that occurred in Patchogue, New York a few years ago. About 7 high school boys would go out “beaner bashing” for fun, typically drunk or under the influence of a drug. One night, one Hispanic man actually tried to fight back until one of the boys Jeffrey Conroy, stabbed him. It took 40 minutes for the victim to finally arrive at the hospital that was only 4 miles away. Marcelo Lucero, the victim, died shortly after arriving to the hospital. The wound was not life threatening but since it took so long for him to get medical attention, he bled out and died. This was a horrible way for this innocent man to die and I find it disgusting what those boys did. The father of Jeffrey Conroy was in the film and also at my college for the presentation. I was offended when he spoke and thought he was extremely ignorant. He felt that his son was only 17 and he was just trying to have a good time. He does not apologize for his sons actions or think they were wrong. At 17, a person absolutely knows the difference between right and wrong and the consequences for their actions. The father also defended his son against the accusation of being racist by saying that he said Hispanic friends and a Hispanic girlfriend. Just because Jeff might have had a few Hispanic friends does not exclude him from being a racist by any means. I was appalled when I heard the father speak during the film and could not believe that he viewed his son as the victim and not the man minding his own business who lost his life over teenagers stupidity and violence. I was relieved to hear the sentencing for all the boys. Jeff received 25 years in prison, and the other 6 boys received around 8 years. I think the sentences were fair and just, unlike most other cases I hear about.

Leave a comment